To add or remove products from the Canal app, products must be made available on the Canal for Suppliers Sales Channel. Once in the Canal for Suppliers app, click the Listings tab and this section will allow you to view and edit your Listed or Not Listed products.
To list products for Storefronts, navigate to the Not Listed tab and click List to the right of the product you want to add.
Suppliers remain in full control of their products after listing them on Canal. When removing products from Canal you have 4 options:
Pausing is temporarily removing the ability to sell this product for all Storefronts. You should pause products when you are having inventory issues, fulfillment issues, or seasonal constraints. To pause selling on an item navigate to Listings > Select the box to the left of the items you want to pause > Pause selling under the manage products dropdown. You will need to enter a reason for pausing before you can proceed, then these products will appear on the Paused tab of the Listings page.
Pausing will affect all of your Storefront partners, this will immediately mark their products out of stock and notify them via email. Paused products will still appear in Discover and while Storefronts can request to sell these products, they will not be able to sell until the product is resumed. Any existing open orders can still be fulfilled but no new orders will be received for the product while it is paused. To resume selling, navigate to the Paused tab > Select the box to the left of the items you want to resume > Resume.
Rescinding will permanently remove the ability to sell this product for a single Storefront partner. This can be used when you no longer want a particular product sold by a Storefront and can only be rescinded on a relationship level. To rescind a product navigate to My Storefronts > Select the Storefront profile you want to update > Click the 3 dots to the right of the product you want to update > Rescind approval. You will need to enter a reason for rescinding before you can proceed and all existing open orders will still be fulfilled but no new orders will be received for the product after it is rescinded.
This will immediately mark the product out of stock and the Storefront will be notified via email. Should the Storefront want to sell this product again, they will be required to create a new proposal.
Unlisting will permanently remove the ability to sell this product for all Storefront partners. You can utilize this if you no longer want to sell a product or if you wish to receive new proposals for all Storefronts. To unlist a product navigate to the Listings > Select the box to the left of the items you want to pause > Unlist from Canal under the manage products dropdown.
Unlisting will affect all of your Storefront partners, this will immediately mark their products out of stock and notify them via email. We recommend changing the product's status in the Shopify admin to "Draft" or "Archived", or hiding these products automatically by creating an automated collection in Shopify that displays in-stock products only.
Removing outside of Canal
Suppliers can also remove products from Canal by taking action within Shopify. You can do so by:
- Removing the Canal sales channel from the product
- Marking a product as draft or archived
- Deleting a product
Storefronts will still be notified via email and products will be marked out of stock.
Listing or Unlisting in Bulk
If you want to list or unlist products in bulk you can do so by selecting the checkboxes to left of the products you want to update and then selecting the following action at the top of the list.
Listing products on EDI
To list your products to Canal via EDI you can follow the steps below
- From your system of record, send the 832 & 846
- Return to Canal
- Verify product listings were imported from the 832
- Verify inventory levels were synced from 846
You can find more information on onboarding with EDI here.